Behaviour Matters

Lists

Morning all

I’m not a prolific list writer, most of the time I see writing a to do list as a waste of time when I could be doing the things on the list.  But as life becomes more unpredictable and I become easily distracted I can see the value of it. 

A friend told me last week that in business I need to make lists of all the jobs that need to be done, then decide which jobs i can do independently, which jobs i can do if I have a little training and which jobs I cant do, or that can be done better by someone else.  All great advice, although I haven’t done it yet.  But it did get me to thinking about how to transfer that methodology into general every day life, especially during times of change, stress, or just having too much to do in a short amount of time.

I thought that making a list of all the things that need to be completed, getting up, feeding children, getting dressed, making appointments, shopping etc.  then work out which needs to be done now, which can wait for a day or two and which can be tackled eventually.  Then sort out the now list to who can do what, do I need to do it all, who can help?  Then ask for the help, there are usually people in your life who want to help, not take over or do everything, but who genuinely want to help.  I can see how that would make my life simpler, but I know asking for help would be difficult for me. But once I decide what I cant do, and what I don’t need to do, it will be easier.

So today get on with making lists if you are over whelmed by all the things you need to do, then ask others to do some of them for you.

Have fun, I’m off to tackle the things on my list

Leave a Reply

